Whole Person Education Office

Whole Person Education (WPE), also called holistic education, is concerned with the growth of a person’s intellectual, moral, physical, social, emotional, artistic, and spiritual potential. Educational goals include character formation, broad social knowledge and skills, ability to think independently and solve personal problems, high moral and social consciousness.

The Whole Person Education Office (WPEO) was set up in July 2006 to develop the UIC Whole Person Education Program, which comprises a set of experiential learning modules. The WPE modules are offered in form of curricular courses, facilitated by the WPEO centers. In addition, summer and winter programs, extra-curricular activities and clubs are available to students to deepen their learning experience.

Currently six centers are established under the WPEO: Adventure Education Center(AEC), Emotional Intelligence Development Center (EIDC), Arts and Culture Development Center (ACDC), Voluntary Service Development Center (VSDC), Environmental Development Center (EDC), Physical Education Center (PEC).

 

Vision and Mission

In line with UIC's vision of creating a new model of liberal education for China and the world, WPEO aims to create an effective, measurable and portable model of Whole Person Education based on an experiential learning approach.

The mission is to implement UIC’s Whole Person Education ideology by providing experiential learning courses, programs and activities that foster students’ development in teamwork, stamina and persistence, interpersonal skill, self-awareness, endurance, creativity, sense of responsibility and culture awareness.

Consequently the WPEO offers a variety of character-building learning experiences to equip students with critical and holistic knowledge, skills, attitudes and values that they can apply elsewhere to achieve their life goals. Strong emphasis is put on "learning through experience" and "learning through practice", after which reflection and sublimation will follow naturally.

全人教育办公室

全人教育(简称WPE),又称全面教育,关注每个学生的智力、道德、体能、社交、情感、审美、和精神潜质的提升。旨在帮助学生塑造性格、广泛学习社会知识及技能,养成独立思考能力和解决个人问题的能力、形成崇高的道德意识和社会意识。

全人教育办公室(简称WPEO)成立于2006年7月,通过设置一系列体验式学习模块来发展UIC全人教育课程。WPE学习模块以课程的形式开展,由WPEO各中心指导实施。此外,也通过组织丰富多彩的寒暑期项目,课外活动以及兴趣社团等深化学生的学习体验。

目前,WPEO共建立了6个中心,包括:户外拓展教育中心(简称AEC)、情绪智能发展中心(简称EIDC)、艺术与文化发展中心(简称ACDC)、义工服务发展中心(简称VSDC)、环境发展中心(简称EDC)以及体育中心(简称PEC)。

 

愿景和使命

UIC的愿景是致力于为中国和世界创造出一种博雅教育新模式,与此一致,全人教育办公室旨在基于体验式学习方法上,创造出一种高效的、可评估和可复制的全人教育模式。

全人教育办公室的使命是通过提供体验式学习课程、项目和活动来培养学生的团队合作能力、毅力、人际交往能力、自我意识、忍耐力、创造力、责任感和文化意识,从而践行UIC的全人教育理念。

WPEO提供多种有助于性格养成的学习体验来帮助学生获得关键和全面的知识、技能、人生态度和价值,帮助他们实现人生目标。全人教育特别强调“从体验中学习”以及“从实践中学习”,在体验和实践之后,便有了反思和进步。